Skill Levels

We encourage our CERT members to participate in all classes that interest them.

Skill Level 1Complete CERT Basic Training Course (20 hours)
Skill Level 2
  • CERT Basic Training Course
  • Traffic & Crowd Control Class
  • Online Course IS-317*
  • Online Course IS-100: ICS (Intro)*
  • Online Course IS-700: NIMS (National Incident Management System)*
  • Emergency Communications Class
  • Red Cross or American Heart Association First Aid & CPR Training*
Skill Level 3
  • Level 2 Training plus:
  • Incident Command Post (ICP) Operations Class
  • Online Course IS-200: ICS*
  • Online Course IS-800: National Response Framework*
  • Radio Communications, Fundamentals of Net Control
  • American Red Cross Sheltering Class (Instructor led)
Instructor Requirements
  • CERT Basic Training Course
  • CERT Train-the-Trainer (T3) Course (24 hours)
  • Online courses IS-100, IS-200, IS-700, IS-800
  • ICP Set-up and Operations
  • Animal Response

* Certificate of Completion from FEMA or CPR card is required